Best Cordless Chainsaws 2026: EGO vs Greenworks vs Makita

Hand holding a hose nozzle watering garden plants.

Researched comparisonLast updated October 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

Greenworks is the lowest-priced kit, EGO has the longest tool warranty, and Makita is the pick if you already own 18V LXT batteries.

  • EGO POWER+ CS1613 16 in. Chain Saw Kit: best for homeowners who want a single 56V 4.0Ah kit with a 5-year tool warranty
  • Greenworks 40V 16 in. Brushless Chainsaw Kit (20312): best for occasional yard cleanup on a tighter budget
  • Makita XCU04CM 16 in. Chain Saw Kit (18V X2): best for owners who already use Makita 18V LXT tools

Prices as of October 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT.

A cordless chainsaw is a good fit for storm cleanup, limbing and firewood-sized logs around a house, without mixing fuel. All three kits here are 16 in. saws sold by Amazon.com at the time we checked, so the differences are battery system, kit contents, warranty and price.

How We Chose

We picked well-known brands with a 16 in. battery chainsaw kit that Amazon.com sold at the time we checked. The kits are not identical: EGO and Greenworks include one 4.0Ah battery, while the Makita includes two 18V 4.0Ah batteries, so it costs more. Specs come from each manufacturer’s product page. EGO’s page does not state a weight, and the weights we did find are not measured on the same basis, so we do not rank them. Chain speeds are shown in the units each manufacturer uses.

The Lineup

Brand and Model Amazon Price Battery in Kit Bar Length Chain Speed Weight
EGO POWER+ CS1613 16 in. Chain Saw Kit$299.00
as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT
Check price →
One 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger16 in.20 m/sNot stated in the fields we checked
Greenworks 40V 16 in. Brushless Chainsaw Kit (20312)$249.99
as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT
Check price →
One 40V 4.0Ah battery and charger16 in.34.5 fps9.28 lb, basis not stated
Makita XCU04CM 16 in. Chain Saw Kit (18V X2)$419.25
as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT
Check price →
Two 18V 4.0Ah batteries and dual port charger16 in.3,940 ft/min11.1 lb with batteries

Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages. Prices as of October 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

EGO POWER+ CS1613 16 in. Chain Saw Kit

$299.00 as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT on Amazon  ·  4.0Ah battery in the kit

Best for: homeowners who want a single 56V 4.0Ah kit with a 5-year tool warranty

EGO’s page lists the CS1613 as a 16 in. saw with a 4.0Ah battery and charger. It states a 5-year limited tool warranty and a 3-year limited battery warranty, the longest tool term of the three. EGO’s page does not give a weight for the saw, so we are not showing one. It costs more than the Greenworks with the same 4.0Ah battery size, and less than the Makita two-battery kit.

Warranty: 5 years tool, 3 years battery

Check Price on Amazon →

Greenworks 40V 16 in. Brushless Chainsaw Kit (20312)

$249.99 as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT on Amazon  ·  Lowest price of the three

Best for: occasional yard cleanup on a tighter budget

Greenworks lists the 20312 with one 4.0Ah battery and charger, a 16 in. bar and a 9.28 lb weight (the page does not say whether that includes the battery). It is the lowest-priced kit of the three. Greenworks lists a 3-year warranty on the 40V tool and battery.

Warranty: 3 years tool and battery

Check Price on Amazon →

Makita XCU04CM 16 in. Chain Saw Kit (18V X2)

$419.25 as of Oct 16, 2026, 11:48 pm CT on Amazon  ·  Two-battery kit

Best for: owners who already use Makita 18V LXT tools

The XCU04CM runs on two 18V LXT batteries, which Makita’s page lists as 4.0Ah each, and ships with both plus a dual port charger. Makita gives its weight as 11.1 lb with the batteries. It costs the most here, partly because the kit carries two batteries, so it is not an even price match with the single-battery kits.

Warranty: 3 years on tool, battery and charger

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

For the lowest price, the Greenworks 20312 is the straightforward choice. Pick the EGO if the 5-year tool warranty matters, and the Makita if you already own 18V LXT batteries and can use the second one in other tools. As with any chainsaw, check the manufacturer’s manual for safety gear and bar oil before first use.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a cordless chainsaw strong enough for firewood?

The three saws here have a 16 in. bar. As general guidance, a battery saw suits limbing, storm cleanup and small logs; the manufacturer’s manual gives the maximum cut diameter for each model.

Do these kits include a battery and charger?

Yes. The EGO and Greenworks kits include one 4.0Ah battery and a charger. The Makita kit includes two 18V 4.0Ah batteries and a dual port charger.

Which chainsaw has the longest warranty?

EGO’s page lists a 5-year limited tool warranty and a 3-year limited battery warranty. Greenworks lists 3 years on the 40V tool and battery, and Makita lists 3 years on tool, battery and charger.

Do the batteries work with other tools?

Each brand uses its own battery platform: EGO 56V, Greenworks 40V and Makita 18V LXT. A battery works with other tools in the same platform, so the brand you already own can matter more than the saw.

Scroll to Top