Best Lawn Edgers 2026: Greenworks vs WORX vs BLACK+DECKER

Freshly cut green lawn beside a modern house.

Researched comparisonLast updated October 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

The Greenworks 40V 8 inch edger is our pick for most yards: it has the biggest blade and the highest voltage here, an 8 inch blade on 40V with a 4.0 Ah battery, the deepest listed cut at 2.25 inches, a brushless motor and a 3 year tool and battery warranty. The WORX WG898 has the lightest published tool-only weight here, 7.06 pounds, with a brushless motor and three depth settings. The BLACK+DECKER BCED400C1 has the lowest price and four height settings.

  • Greenworks 40V 8-Inch Brushless Lawn Edger Kit ED40L410: best for homeowners who want the deepest listed cut here, 2.25 inches, from an 8 inch blade
  • WORX WG898 Nitro 20V 7-Inch Brushless Cordless Edger: best for people who want the lightest published tool-only weight here, 7.06 lb, and three depth settings
  • BLACK+DECKER BCED400C1 20V MAX Cordless Edger Kit: best for budget buyers who want four height settings on a 7.5 inch blade

Prices as of October 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT.

A lawn edger cuts a clean line where grass meets a sidewalk, driveway or garden bed, which a string trimmer cannot match for a sharp border. We compared three cordless stick edgers from Greenworks, WORX and BLACK+DECKER, each sold as a kit with a battery and a vertical steel blade.

How We Chose

We picked three well-known lawn tool brands and matched the type: each is a cordless walk-behind stick edger sold with a battery. They are not identical: the Greenworks runs on 40V while the WORX and BLACK+DECKER run on 20V, blades range from 7 to 8 inches, the batteries range from 1.5 to 4.0 Ah, and the brands state run time in minutes or in feet of edging, so we do not rank them on run time. Weights are for the tool without its battery where the brand gives that figure. Specs come from each manufacturer’s own product pages and manuals, and each card lists the warranty from the brand’s own pages. Prices are the Amazon prices on the date shown.

The Lineup

Brand and Model Amazon Price Voltage Blade Cut Depth Battery Tool-Only Weight
Greenworks 40V 8-Inch Brushless Lawn Edger Kit ED40L410$179.98
as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT
Check price →
40V8 inUp to 2.25 in4.0Ah included9.59 lb
WORX WG898 Nitro 20V 7-Inch Brushless Cordless Edger$139.99
as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT
Check price →
20V7 in1.5 to 2 in, 3 settings4.0Ah included7.06 lb
BLACK+DECKER BCED400C1 20V MAX Cordless Edger Kit$119.00
as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT
Check price →
20V7.5 inUp to 1.75 in, 4 settings1.5Ah includedNot stated in the fields we checked

Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages and manuals. Prices as of October 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Greenworks 40V 8-Inch Brushless Lawn Edger Kit ED40L410

$179.98 as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT on Amazon  ·  Biggest blade, deepest cut

Best for: homeowners who want the deepest listed cut here, 2.25 inches, from an 8 inch blade

Greenworks’ page for its 40V 8 inch brushless edger lists an 8 inch blade, a 2.25 inch cut depth with tool-less depth adjustment, a 6,500 RPM no load speed, a guide wheel and up to 60 minutes of run time with the included 4.0 Ah battery and 2A charger. The owner’s manual for the ED40L410 lists 9.59 pounds without the battery pack. We like it for long driveways and sidewalks, because the 40V motor and deeper cut handle overgrown edges in one pass.

Warranty: 3 years tool and battery

Check Price on Amazon →

WORX WG898 Nitro 20V 7-Inch Brushless Cordless Edger

$139.99 as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT on Amazon  ·  Lightest published tool weight

Best for: people who want the lightest published tool-only weight here, 7.06 lb, and three depth settings

WORX’s page for the WG898 lists a brushless motor, three depth settings from 1.5 to 2 inches, dual wheels with an edging guide, an adjustable auxiliary handle and up to 2,800 feet of edging per charge, with a 4.0 Ah battery and a 60 minute quick charger in the box. The manual lists a 7 inch blade, a 4,000 RPM no load speed and 7.06 pounds for the bare tool. We like it for smaller yards, because the light tool is easy to steer along curved beds.

Warranty: 3 years with product registration

Check Price on Amazon →

BLACK+DECKER BCED400C1 20V MAX Cordless Edger Kit

$119.00 as of Oct 19, 2026, 7:18 am CT on Amazon  ·  Lowest price, 4 height settings

Best for: budget buyers who want four height settings on a 7.5 inch blade

BLACK+DECKER’s page for the BCED400C1 lists 20V power, a 7.5 inch blade with a 1.75 inch cut capacity, a four setting height adjustment, an edge guide and up to 815 feet of edging per charge from the included 1.5 Ah battery. We like it for touching up a small front walk, because it is the lowest priced kit here and easy to store.

Warranty: See BLACK+DECKER’s warranty page for details

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

Pick the Greenworks 40V 8 inch edger for the biggest blade, the highest voltage, the deepest listed cut and a 3 year tool and battery warranty. Pick the WORX WG898 for the lightest published tool-only weight here, a brushless motor and three depth settings. Pick the BLACK+DECKER BCED400C1 for the lowest price and four height settings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a lawn edger better than a string trimmer for edging?

For a sharp border along concrete, yes. An edger like these runs a vertical steel blade guided by wheels, so it cuts a straight, clean line, while a string trimmer turned on its side tends to wander and leave a softer edge.

How deep do these edgers cut?

Greenworks lists up to 2.25 inches for its 40V 8 inch edger, WORX lists 1.5 to 2 inches across three settings for the WG898, and BLACK+DECKER lists a 1.75 inch cut capacity for the BCED400C1.

Do these edgers come with a battery?

Yes. Greenworks includes a 4.0 Ah battery and a charger, WORX includes a 4.0 Ah battery and a 60 minute quick charger, and BLACK+DECKER includes a 1.5 Ah battery with the BCED400C1 kit.

How long does a charge last?

Greenworks lists up to 60 minutes with its 4.0 Ah battery. WORX lists up to 2,800 feet of edging per charge and BLACK+DECKER lists up to 815 feet, so the figures are not on the same basis.

What warranty do they have?

Greenworks lists 3 years on the tool and battery, and WORX lists 3 years with product registration. BLACK+DECKER’s product page does not state a term for the BCED400C1, so check its warranty page.

Scroll to Top