Best Outdoor Bluetooth Speakers 2026: JBL vs Bose vs Ultimate Ears vs Sony

Beach ball floating in a bright blue swimming pool.

Researched comparisonLast updated September 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

The Ultimate Ears BOOM 4 is the lowest price at $109.99 and is the only one whose manufacturer says it floats. The Sony ULT FIELD 1 is $138.00 and lists up to 12 hours of battery. The JBL Charge 6 is $149.95 and lists the longest battery, 24 hours plus 4 with Playtime Boost, along with a built-in power bank. The Bose SoundLink Flex (2nd Gen) is $159.00 and lists up to 12 hours. All four are available on Amazon and carry an IP67 or IP68 rating on the manufacturer page.

  • Ultimate Ears BOOM 4: best for pool and beach users who want a speaker that floats (IP67), with up to 15 hours of battery and a 45 m range.
  • Sony ULT FIELD 1: best for bass fans who want an ULT bass button, IP67 protection and up to 12 hours of battery.
  • JBL Charge 6: best for buyers who want the longest battery here (24 hours, plus 4 with Playtime Boost), IP68 protection and a power bank function.
  • Bose SoundLink Flex (2nd Gen): best for buyers who want a compact IP67 speaker with Stereo or Party mode across two linked speakers.

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT.

A patio speaker needs to survive spills, splashes, and the occasional drop. This comparison puts four portable Bluetooth speakers from Ultimate Ears, Sony, JBL, and Bose side by side on water rating, battery life, range, multi-speaker pairing, and warranty.

How We Chose

We compared four portable waterproof Bluetooth speakers from JBL, Bose, Ultimate Ears, and Sony, all available on Amazon and priced between $110 and $160. We left out cheaper speakers from little-known brands. The speakers are not identical. They differ in size, in the water rating (IP67 or IP68), and in what each listing states, so where a value was not stated on a manufacturer page we say so. Every spec and warranty cell in the table comes from the manufacturer’’s own page and names it. The Sony cells come from Sony Canada pages and the Sony help guide because Sony’s US site could not be read, and the Ultimate Ears cells come from Ultimate Ears and Logitech pages because Ultimate Ears is a Logitech brand and Logitech publishes its warranty. This is a researched comparison, not a hands-on test, so we make no claims about sound quality or how well any of them holds up beyond what each listing says. Prices are Amazon prices checked in September 2026 and can change.

The Lineup

Brand & Model Amazon Price Water / Dust Rating Battery Range Multi-Speaker Pairing Warranty
Ultimate Ears BOOM 4
Check price →
$109.99
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
IP67, waterproof, floatable, drop-proof (per Ultimate Ears product page)Up to 15 hours (per Ultimate Ears product page)45 m (147 ft) (per Logitech product page for the BOOM 4)PartyUp with compatible BOOM and MEGABOOM family speakers (per Ultimate Ears product page)2 years limited hardware (per Logitech product page for the BOOM 4)
Sony ULT FIELD 1
Check price →
$138.00
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
IP67 (per Sony product page)Up to 12 hours (per Sony product page)About 30 m (98 ft), Bluetooth 5.3 (per Sony help guide)Stereo Pair with a second speaker (per Sony help guide)1 year (per Sony Canada support article, model not named)
JBL Charge 6
Check price →
$149.95
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
IP68 (per JBL product page)24 hours, plus 4 with Playtime Boost (per JBL product page)Not stated in the fields we checkedAuracast: stereo pair, or link other Auracast JBL speakers (per JBL product page)1 year (per JBL warranty page, covers the category)
Bose SoundLink Flex (2nd Gen)
Check price →
$159.00
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
IP67 (per Bose product page)Up to 12 hours (per Bose product page)Within 30 ft, Bluetooth 5.3 (per Bose product page)Stereo or Party mode with two linked speakers (per Bose product page)1 year limited (per Bose product page)

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Ultimate Ears Boom 4 Portable Bluetooth Speaker, Waterproof

$109.99 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  lowest price, floats

Best for: pool and beach users who want a speaker that floats (IP67), with up to 15 hours of battery and a 45 m range.

Ultimate Ears lists a rechargeable battery rated for up to 15 hours per charge with USB-C charging (cable not included), and an IP67 rating that it describes as waterproof, floatable and drop-proof. Its Logitech product page lists 45 meters (147 feet) of range and a 2 year limited hardware warranty, and its PartyUp feature pairs with compatible BOOM, MEGABOOM, EVERBOOM, EPICBOOM and HYPERBOOM speakers. The Amazon listing also describes 360 degree sound. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Sony ULT FIELD 1 Wireless Bluetooth Portable Waterproof Speaker

$138.00 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  ULT bass button

Best for: bass fans who want an ULT bass button, IP67 protection and up to 12 hours of battery.

Sony’s Canadian page lists IP67 water and dust protection and up to 12 hours of battery, and its help guide gives Bluetooth 5.3 with a range of about 30 meters (98 feet) and describes the Stereo Pair function for linking two of these speakers. The help guide gives 12 hours at volume 25 and about 3 hours at maximum volume, both with ULT POWER SOUND on. The Amazon listing also mentions an ULT button that boosts bass, a detachable multi-way strap, a built-in microphone for calls, and four colors. Sony Canada’s support article gives a one year hardware warranty for the brand without naming the model, and Sony’s US warranty page could not be read. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

JBL Charge 6 Portable Bluetooth Speaker, Waterproof, Drop-Proof

$149.95 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  longest battery, power bank

Best for: buyers who want the longest battery here (24 hours, plus 4 with Playtime Boost), IP68 protection and a power bank function.

JBL’s page describes a 24 hour battery with 4 more hours from Playtime Boost, an IP68 rating for waterproof, dustproof, and drop-proof use (1 meter drops and submersion up to 1.5 meters under lab conditions), and fast charging that gives up to 150 minutes from a 10 minute charge. It also lists a built-in power bank for charging a phone, Bluetooth 5.4, and Auracast for stereo pairing two Charge 6 speakers or linking other Auracast speakers. JBL’s page gives no Bluetooth range. JBL’s warranty page lists one year for its portable products as a category. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Bose SoundLink Flex Bluetooth Speaker (2nd Gen) Portable Outdoor Speaker

$159.00 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  highest price, compact

Best for: buyers who want a compact IP67 speaker with Stereo or Party mode across two linked speakers.

Bose’s page describes a compact speaker (1.3 pounds) with up to 12 hours of battery life, an IP67 rating for water and dust, and Bluetooth 5.3 with a strong connection within 30 feet. It supports multipoint, which keeps it connected to two source devices, and stereo or party mode when you link two speakers. The Amazon listing also mentions a utility loop, a silicone-wrapped body, and PositionIQ, which adjusts the sound for how the speaker is standing or lying. Bose’s page lists a 1 year limited warranty, which it says is included with all Bose products. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

If price matters most, the Ultimate Ears BOOM 4 is the cheapest and the only one here that says it floats. If long battery life matters most, the JBL Charge 6 lists the most hours and can charge a phone. The Bose is the most compact of the four and the most expensive, and the Sony sits in between with a bass button. All four have similar water ratings on paper, so the choice comes down to battery, size, and price. We did not test any of them.

Frequently Asked Questions

What IP rating do I need for a patio speaker?

The four speakers here list IP67 or IP68 ratings. Both ratings cover dust and water immersion, so splashes and spills on a patio are within what the manufacturers describe. Check each manufacturer page for the exact conditions the rating applies to.

Which of these speakers has the longest battery life?

The JBL Charge 6 lists 24 hours, plus 4 more with Playtime Boost. The Ultimate Ears BOOM 4 lists 15 hours, and the Sony and Bose pages say up to 12 hours.

Can I pair two of these speakers together?

JBL lists Auracast pairing, Ultimate Ears lists PartyUp with compatible BOOM and MEGABOOM family speakers, Bose lists stereo or party mode when you link two speakers, and Sony lists a Stereo Pair function for two speakers. Pairing works with compatible models, so check which ones.

Do these speakers have a warranty?

JBL’s warranty page lists 1 year for its portable products as a category, Bose lists a 1 year limited warranty, and Ultimate Ears lists a 2 year limited hardware warranty on its Logitech product page. Sony Canada’s support article gives 1 year for the brand without naming the model, and we could not read Sony’s US warranty page.

Scroll to Top