Researched comparisonLast updated October 2026 · How we review
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.
Quick Answer
Heat Storm is the lowest-priced and lightest pick, Dimplex has the longest timer at 13 hours, and Dr. Infrared is the only one of the three you can stand freestanding on a base.
- Dimplex Infrared Plug-in Patio Heater (DIRP15A10GR): best for a wall-mounted plug-in infrared heater with three heat settings and a timer that runs up to 13 hours
- Heat Storm Tradesman 1500 Watt Infrared Heater with Remote (HS-1500-OTR-R): best for a lightweight 1,500 watt plug-in infrared heater with an IPX4 rating that mounts on a wall or ceiling
- Dr. Infrared Heater DR-298 1500W Indoor and Outdoor Infrared Heater: best for an infrared heater you can set on its wheeled base or mount on a wall or ceiling, with a 6 hour timer
Prices as of October 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT.
An electric infrared heater warms people instead of the air, which is why it suits a breezy patio better than a space heater. These three 1,500 watt, plug-in models come from Dimplex, Heat Storm and Dr. Infrared.
How We Chose
We picked one 1,500 watt, 120 volt plug-in infrared heater from each of Dimplex, Heat Storm and Dr. Infrared. They are not identical: the Dimplex mounts on a wall only, the Heat Storm mounts on a wall or ceiling, and the Dr. Infrared can also stand on its own base, and their weather ratings are stated differently, so match the rating to how exposed your patio is. This is a researched comparison, and prices were checked this month. Specs come from each manufacturer’s own page where it gives them, and values marked with an asterisk come from the Amazon listing. Warranty terms come from the manufacturer’s own website where it names the model, and we say so where it does not. Each card lists the warranty.
The Lineup
Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages. * Value from the Amazon listing, because the manufacturer’s page does not state it. Prices as of October 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.
Dimplex Infrared Plug-in Patio Heater (DIRP15A10GR)
$129.99 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon · Longest timer
Best for: a wall-mounted plug-in infrared heater with three heat settings and a timer that runs up to 13 hours
Dimplex’s product sheet and owner’s manual for the DIRP15A10GR list a 1,500 watt ruby halogen infrared heater with settings of 600, 1,050 and 1,500 watts, a remote with a 1 to 13 hour timer, a 7.7 foot cord with a grounded plug and wall mounting only. The sheet lists coverage of about 112 square feet indoors and about 80 square feet outdoors. It has no thermostat. The sheet gives an IP65 weatherproof rating while the manual lists no rating and advises protecting the unit from snow and ice outdoors, so check both documents.
Warranty: 1 year limited
Check Price on Amazon →Heat Storm Tradesman 1500 Watt Infrared Heater with Remote (HS-1500-OTR-R)
$99.99 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon · Lowest price and lightest
Best for: a lightweight 1,500 watt plug-in infrared heater with an IPX4 rating that mounts on a wall or ceiling
Heat Storm’s page for the HS-1500-OTR-R lists a 1,500 watt carbon fiber infrared heater rated at 5,200 BTU on 12.5 amps, with an IPX4 weatherproof rating, an 8 foot cord, mounting hardware and a remote. It lists primary heat for up to 150 square feet and supplemental heat for up to 300 square feet, and the unit has tip-over shut-off. The page does not list a thermostat, timer or separate heat levels.
Warranty: 1 year limited
Check Price on Amazon →Dr. Infrared Heater DR-298 1500W Indoor and Outdoor Infrared Heater
$109.98 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon · Freestanding or mounted
Best for: an infrared heater you can set on its wheeled base or mount on a wall or ceiling, with a 6 hour timer
The Dr. Infrared Heater DR-298 manual lists a carbon infrared element with settings of 900, 1,200 and 1,500 watts, a remote, a timer from 0 to 6 hours in 1 hour steps, tip-over shutoff and over-temperature protection. It stands on a wheeled baseplate or mounts on a wall or ceiling with the included brackets, and the manual requires a GFCI outlet for outdoor use and no extension cord. The manual does not give an IP rating, dimensions or a weight, so the weight cell comes from the Amazon listing.
Warranty: 1 year limited
Check Price on Amazon →Our Take
Pick the Heat Storm for the lowest price, the lowest weight and a stated IPX4 rating. Pick the Dimplex if you want a remote with a timer that runs up to 13 hours on a wall mount. Pick the Dr. Infrared if you want to move the heater around on its base. As general guidance, a 1,500 watt heater needs its own outlet, and outdoor use calls for a GFCI outlet.
More Patio Guides: All Patio Guides · Best Outdoor Rugs 2026 · Best 9 Ft Patio Umbrellas 2026 · Best Outdoor Bluetooth Speakers 2026 · Best Propane Patio Heaters 2026 · Best Deck Boxes for Your Patio 2026 · Best Adirondack Chairs 2026 · Best Outdoor String Lights 2026 · Best Smokeless Fire Pits 2026 · Best Propane Fire Pits 2026 · Best Gazebos 2026 · Best Outdoor Rocking Chairs 2026 · Best Outdoor Benches 2026
Frequently Asked Questions
Do these heaters need to be hardwired?
No. Dimplex lists a 7.7 foot cord with a grounded plug, Heat Storm lists an 8 foot cord for a standard outlet, and Dr. Infrared lists a grounded 3 prong 120 volt plug with no extension cord.
Which of these can stand on its own?
Dr. Infrared lists a wheeled baseplate for freestanding use. Dimplex lists wall mounting only, and Heat Storm lists wall or ceiling mounting.
How much space do they heat?
Heat Storm lists primary heat for up to 150 square feet and Dimplex lists about 80 square feet outdoors. Dr. Infrared’s manual does not state a coverage area.
Are they weatherproof?
Heat Storm lists an IPX4 rating. Dimplex’s product sheet lists IP65 while its manual gives no rating, and Dr. Infrared’s manual says approved for indoor and outdoor use with a GFCI outlet and gives no IP rating.
What warranties do these heaters have?
Dimplex, Heat Storm and Dr. Infrared each list a 1 year limited warranty. The Heat Storm card links its warranty page.



