Best Label Makers 2026: Brother vs DYMO vs Epson

Home office desk and chair beside bright windows.

Researched comparisonLast updated October 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

Epson is the lowest-priced pick and prints on the widest tape at up to 18 mm, Brother comes with four tapes and lists 617 symbols, and DYMO adds a large preview screen and 8 text styles.

  • Brother P-touch PT-D210 Label Maker Bundle (PTD210BP): best for a handheld label maker sold with four laminated tapes in the box
  • DYMO LabelManager 160 Label Maker Bundle: best for a handheld label maker with a large preview screen and three D1 cassettes in the bundle
  • Epson LabelWorks LW-K200PX-DBL Keyboard Label Maker: best for a handheld keyboard label maker that prints on tape up to 18 mm wide

Prices as of October 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT.

A handheld label maker is a small tool that pays for itself the first time you sort a cable drawer or a filing shelf. These three keyboard models come from Brother, DYMO and Epson.

How We Chose

We picked one handheld keyboard label maker from each of Brother, DYMO and Epson. They are not sold the same way: the Brother and DYMO listings are bundles with extra tapes, while the Epson comes with one tape cartridge, and each brand uses its own tape type, so check the price of refills before you buy. This is a researched comparison, and prices were checked this month. Specs come from each manufacturer’s own page where it gives them, and values marked with an asterisk come from the Amazon listing. Warranty terms come from the manufacturer’s own website. Each card lists the warranty.

The Lineup

Brand and Model Amazon Price Tape Widths Power Fonts and Symbols Cutter Weight
Brother P-touch PT-D210 Label Maker Bundle (PTD210BP)$47.99
as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT
Check price →
12, 9, 6 and 3.5 mm6 AAA batteries, not included14 fonts, 617 symbols, 98 framesNot stated in the fields we checked1.1 lb*
DYMO LabelManager 160 Label Maker Bundle$54.99
as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT
Check price →
6, 9 and 12 mm6 AAA batteries, not included6 sizes, 8 styles, 228 symbolsManual1.62 lb
Epson LabelWorks LW-K200PX-DBL Keyboard Label Maker$43.99
as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT
Check price →
Up to 18 mm6 AA batteries, not included14 fontsManualAbout 1 lb

Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages. * Value from the Amazon listing, because the manufacturer’s page does not state it. Prices as of October 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Brother P-touch PT-D210 Label Maker Bundle (PTD210BP)

$47.99 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon  ·  Most tapes in the bundle

Best for: a handheld label maker sold with four laminated tapes in the box

Brother’s pages for the PT-D210 list tape widths of 12, 9, 6 and 3.5 millimeters, a 15 character by 1 line display with a preview before printing, 14 fonts, 617 built-in symbols, 98 frame types and storage for 30 labels. It runs on 6 AAA batteries that are not included and uses Brother TZe laminated tapes. The bundle page lists one sample tape plus three full-length black on white laminated tapes. Brother’s pages do not mention a cutter or state a weight, so the weight cell comes from the Amazon listing.

Warranty: 1 year limited

Check Price on Amazon →

DYMO LabelManager 160 Label Maker Bundle

$54.99 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon

Best for: a handheld label maker with a large preview screen and three D1 cassettes in the bundle

DYMO’s sell sheet and user guide for the LabelManager 160 list tape widths of 6, 9 and 12 millimeters, a large LCD preview screen, 6 text sizes, 8 styles and 228 symbols and clip art images. It runs on 6 AAA batteries that are not included, with an optional 9 volt AC adapter sold separately, uses DYMO D1 tape cassettes and has a manual cutter button. The sell sheet lists a weight of 1.62 pounds and a D1 starter cassette in the box. DYMO’s product page and sell sheet give slightly different dimensions, so we do not list a size.

Warranty: 1 year limited

Check Price on Amazon →

Epson LabelWorks LW-K200PX-DBL Keyboard Label Maker

$43.99 as of Oct 17, 2026, 10:08 am CT on Amazon  ·  Lowest price and widest tape

Best for: a handheld keyboard label maker that prints on tape up to 18 mm wide

Epson’s LabelWorks page for the LW-K200PX-DBL lists a maximum label width of 18 millimeters, 14 built-in fonts, a built-in manual cutter, a resolution of 180 dpi and a weight of about 1 pound without batteries and tape. It runs on 6 AA batteries that are not included, and one 1/2 inch black on white tape cartridge comes in the box. Epson’s page does not state the number of symbols or frames. Epson sells its own LabelWorks tapes, so tape from the other two brands will not fit.

Warranty: Lifetime, with registration

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

Pick the Epson for the lowest price and the widest tape. Pick the Brother if you want a bundle with four tapes and a long symbol and frame list. Pick the DYMO if you want a large preview screen and a choice of 8 text styles. As general guidance, tape refills are the real running cost of a label maker, so look at the price of the tape each model uses before you choose.

Frequently Asked Questions

What tape width do these label makers use?

Brother lists 12, 9, 6 and 3.5 mm tapes, DYMO lists 6, 9 and 12 mm, and Epson lists a maximum label width of 18 mm.

Can I use one brand’s tape in another brand’s label maker?

Brother uses TZe tapes and DYMO uses D1 cassettes. Epson sells its own LabelWorks tapes and its page does not name a type shared with the others. As general guidance, assume tape does not cross brands.

How are these label makers powered?

Brother and DYMO run on 6 AAA batteries and Epson runs on 6 AA batteries, and none of them includes the batteries. Brother and DYMO list an optional AC adapter.

Do they have a built-in cutter?

DYMO and Epson list a manual cutter. Brother’s pages do not mention a cutter.

What warranties do these label makers have?

Brother and DYMO list a 1 year limited warranty and Epson lists a lifetime warranty with registration. Each card links the manufacturer’s page.

Scroll to Top