Best 9 Ft Patio Umbrellas 2026: California Umbrella vs Blue Wave vs Amazon Basics

Orange patio umbrella against a blue sky.

Researched comparisonLast updated September 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

The Amazon Basics umbrella is the lowest price at $54.96 and has a steel pole and ribs with a crank lift. The California Umbrella is $132.15 and lists an all aluminum frame with 8 ribs and a crank that also tilts the canopy. The Blue Wave Cabo II is $136.99 and lists a 3 year warranty on the canopy and 1 year on the pole and frame. None of the three includes a base. All three are available on Amazon.

  • Amazon Basics 9 ft: best for budget-minded buyers who want a basic 9 ft round umbrella with a steel frame, crank lift and push-button tilt, and will buy a base separately.
  • California Umbrella 9 ft Round: best for buyers who want an all-aluminum frame with a Solstice canopy, crank lift and auto tilt.
  • Blue Wave Cabo II 9 ft: best for buyers who want a 9 ft octagon with 57 sq ft of coverage, a push-button spring-assisted lift and a 3 year canopy warranty.

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT, except the Amazon Basics price, checked October 1, 2026, 1:28 pm CT.

A 9 ft market umbrella is the standard shade size for a patio table. This comparison puts an Amazon Basics, a California Umbrella, and a Blue Wave 9 ft umbrella side by side on frame material, canopy fabric, how they open and tilt, and warranty.

How We Chose

We compared three 9 ft market umbrellas from California Umbrella, Blue Wave, and Amazon Basics, all available on Amazon. We also looked at Treasure Garden, but the offers we found were from third-party sellers, so we left them out, and the Island Umbrella listing we checked gave no specifications. The umbrellas are not identical. The Amazon Basics has a steel frame, the other two are aluminum, and the Blue Wave opens with a push button, spring-assisted mechanism while the other two use a crank, so the price gap reflects real differences. Every spec and warranty cell in the table comes from the manufacturer’’s own page and names it, except the Amazon Basics cells, which come from the Amazon listing and the brand-wide Amazon Basics limited warranty because Amazon Basics is Amazon’s own brand. We priced the California Umbrella ATA908117-F09, the Blue Wave NU6840 (Champagne) and the Amazon Basics JC917 (Tan, the color in stock on October 1), and each brand’s page covers the series. This is a researched comparison, not a hands-on test, so we make no claims about wind performance or how long the fabric lasts beyond what each listing says. Prices are Amazon prices checked in September 2026 and can change.

The Lineup

Brand & Model Amazon Price Size / Shape Frame Canopy Open / Tilt Base Included Warranty
Amazon Basics 9 ft
Check price →
$54.96
as of Oct 1, 2026, 1:28 pm CT
9 ft, round (per Amazon listing)Steel pole and ribs (per Amazon listing)Polyester (per Amazon listing)Crank lift, push-button tilt (per Amazon listing)No, sold separately (per Amazon listing)1 year (per Amazon Basics limited warranty, covers the brand)
California Umbrella 9 ft Round
Check price →
$132.15
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
9 ft round (per California Umbrella product page)Aluminum, 1.5 in pole (per California Umbrella product page); 8 ribs (per Amazon listing)Solstice, previously called olefin (per California Umbrella product page)Crank lift, auto tilt (per California Umbrella product page)No, sold separately (per California Umbrella product page)Frame and ribs 1 year, olefin canopy 1 year (per California Umbrella product page)
Blue Wave Cabo II 9 ft
Check price →
$136.99
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
9 ft octagon, 57 sq ft of coverage (per Blue Wave product page)Aluminum, 8 ribs, 1.5 in pole (per Blue Wave product page)Breez-Tex (per Blue Wave product page)Push button, spring-assisted, no tilt (per Blue Wave product page)No, sold separately (per Blue Wave product page)Canopy 3 years, pole and structure 1 year (per Blue Wave product page)

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT, except the Amazon Basics price, checked October 1, 2026, 1:28 pm CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Amazon Basics 90.6 in Height, 9ft Unfolding Diameter Outdoor Patio Umbrella, Crank Lift and Push Button Tilt, Steel Pole

$54.96 as of Oct 1, 2026, 1:28 pm CT on Amazon  ·  lowest price

Best for: budget-minded buyers who want a basic 9 ft round umbrella with a steel frame, crank lift and push-button tilt, and will buy a base separately.

The listing describes a tan 90.6 inch tall umbrella with a 9 ft unfolding diameter, a steel pole and steel ribs, a crank lift, and a push-button tilt. It says the base stand is sold separately. The listing gives the canopy material as polyester. The Amazon Basics limited warranty document lists 1 year for the brand. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

California Umbrella 9 ft Round Aluminum Outdoor Deck, Pool or Patio Umbrella, Crank Lift, Auto Tilt

$132.15 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  all aluminum, auto tilt

Best for: buyers who want an all-aluminum frame with a Solstice canopy, crank lift and auto tilt.

California Umbrella’s page lists a 9 ft round canopy in Solstice fabric (the brand’s name for solution dyed olefin, UPF 90+), a patented auto tilt that tilts the canopy as you crank, and an aluminum frame with a 1.5 inch aluminum pole. The Amazon listing adds stainless steel hardware, 8 ribs, and a built-in wind vent with canopy ties. California Umbrella says the base is not included, and its page lists a 1 year warranty on the frame and ribs and a 1 year warranty on Solstice fabric, so the canopy warranty depends on the fabric you choose. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Blue Wave Cabo II 9-ft Spring-Up Octagon Market Umbrella with Breez-Tex Canopy

$136.99 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  push button, 3 year canopy

Best for: buyers who want a 9 ft octagon with 57 sq ft of coverage, a push-button spring-assisted lift and a 3 year canopy warranty.

Blue Wave’s page describes up to 57 sq ft of shade, an 8-rib frame with a single wind vent and a 1.5 inch aluminum pole with a powder-coated finish, and a push button, spring-assisted opening with no tilt. The canopy is Breez-Tex fabric. Blue Wave lists dimensions of 9 ft by 9 ft by 7.75 ft, does not state a weight, says the base is sold separately, and gives a 3 year warranty on the fabric and 1 year on the pole and structure. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

If price matters most, the Amazon Basics is less than half the cost of the other two, but it has a steel frame. If you want a tilting canopy and an aluminum frame, the California Umbrella has both. The Blue Wave is the only one that opens without a crank, and its 3 year canopy warranty is longer than the 1 year on the California Umbrella’s olefin canopy. Remember that none of the three includes a base, so add that cost. We did not test any of them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do these umbrellas come with a base?

Amazon Basics (per its listing), California Umbrella and Blue Wave all say the base is sold separately, so add that cost.

What is the difference between a crank umbrella and a spring-up umbrella?

The Amazon Basics and California Umbrella use a crank to raise the canopy. The Blue Wave opens with a push button, spring-assisted mechanism rather than a crank, and it does not tilt.

What warranty do these patio umbrellas have?

Blue Wave states 3 years on the fabric and 1 year on the pole and structure. California Umbrella lists 1 year on the frame and ribs, with the canopy warranty depending on the fabric (1 year for its olefin canopy). Amazon Basics products carry the brand-wide 1 year limited warranty.

How big is a 9 ft umbrella?

A 9 ft umbrella is 9 ft across when open. Blue Wave says its canopy gives up to 57 sq ft of shade. The other two did not state a shade area on the pages we read.

Scroll to Top