Best Carry-On Travel Backpacks 2026: Osprey vs Tortuga vs Peak Design

Hiker with a red backpack on a trail toward snow-capped mountains.

Researched comparisonLast updated September 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

The Osprey Daylite Carry-On 35L is the lowest price at $130.00 and the lightest at 2.03 lbs. The Osprey Farpoint 40L is $200.00 and lists a stowaway harness and hip belt. The Tortuga 40L Travel Backpack Lite is $250.00 and lists carry-on dimensions of 22 x 14 x 8 inches. The Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L is $299.95, expands from 35L to 45L, and carries a lifetime warranty on the Peak Design site. The two Osprey packs are available on Amazon. The Tortuga and Peak Design packs are available on Amazon.

  • Osprey Daylite Carry-On 35L: best for short-trip travelers who want the lightest bag here (2.03 lb) with a TSA-access laptop compartment and a mesh back panel.
  • Osprey Farpoint 40L: best for travelers who carry more and want a 40 L bag with a stowaway harness, hip belt and compression.
  • Tortuga 40L Travel Backpack Lite: best for travelers who want a suitcase-style opening, a padded fleece-lined laptop sleeve and a removable hip belt.
  • Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L: best for travelers who want a bag that expands from 30 L to 45 L, with tuck-away straps and a lifetime guarantee.

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT.

A carry-on backpack lets you skip the checked bag and keep your things with you. This comparison puts four travel packs from Osprey, Tortuga, and Peak Design side by side on capacity, size, weight, laptop storage, carry system, and warranty.

How We Chose

We compared four carry-on travel backpacks from Osprey, Tortuga, and Peak Design. All four packs are available on Amazon. We left out cheaper backpacks from little-known brands. The packs are not identical. Capacity ranges from 35L to 45L, and the Farpoint 40L is listed as a men’s specific fit, so the packs differ and where a value was not stated in the fields we checked we say so. Airline carry-on limits vary, so check your airline before you rely on any listing. Capacity, size, weight, laptop storage, and warranty figures come from each manufacturer’s own pages where we could read them, and each table cell names its source. Where a manufacturer page names the exact model, we use its figure instead of the Amazon listing. This is a researched comparison, not a hands-on test, so we make no claims about comfort or how much each bag really holds beyond what each listing says. Prices are Amazon prices checked in September 2026 and can change.

The Lineup

Brand & Model Amazon Price Capacity Size Weight Laptop Storage Carry System Warranty
Osprey Daylite Carry-On 35L
Check price →
$130.00
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
35 L (per Osprey product page)19.3 x 14.6 x 10.2 in (per Osprey product page)2.03 lbs (per Osprey product page)TSA-access compartment for a 16 in laptop (per Osprey product page)AirScape mesh back panel, trolley handle pass-through (per Osprey product page)No stated expiration (per Osprey All Mighty Guarantee page, model not named)
Osprey Farpoint 40L
Check price →
$200.00
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
40 L (per Osprey product page)21.7 x 13.8 x 9.1 in (per Osprey product page)3.27 lbs (per Osprey product page)Direct-zip sleeve fits most laptops up to 16 in (per Osprey product page)Stowaway harness and hip belt, adjustable torso length, WingJacket compression (per Osprey product page)No stated expiration (per Osprey All Mighty Guarantee page, model not named)
Tortuga 40L Travel Backpack Lite
Check price →
$250.00
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
40 L (per Tortuga product page)22 x 14 x 8 in (per Tortuga product page)3.5 lbs (per Tortuga product page)Padded, fleece-lined sleeve for laptops up to 16 in (per Tortuga product page)Removable hip belt, sternum strap, load lifters (per Tortuga product page)Practical lifetime of the product, original owner (per Tortuga warranty page)
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L
Check price →
$299.95
as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT
30 L compressed, 35 L standard, 45 L expanded (per Peak Design product page)22 x 13 x 9.5 in standard, 22 x 13 x 11 in expanded (per Peak Design product page)2.05 kg, 4.5 lb (per Peak Design product page)Fits a 16 in laptop (per Peak Design product page)Tuck-away shoulder straps and hip belt, luggage pass-through (per Amazon listing)Lifetime guarantee (per Peak Design product page)

Prices as of September 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Daylite Carry-On Travel Pack 35L, Carry-On Backpack

$130.00 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  lowest price, lightest

Best for: short-trip travelers who want the lightest bag here (2.03 lb) with a TSA-access laptop compartment and a mesh back panel.

Osprey’s page lists a 35L pack that is 19.3 x 14.6 x 10.2 inches and weighs 2.03 lbs, with a TSA-access compartment for a 16 inch laptop. It also lists a breathable AirScape back panel, a trolley handle pass-through, and sizing for most international and domestic carry-on limits. The listing did not state a warranty, and the Osprey All Mighty Guarantee page lists repair of damage or defects with no stated expiration. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Osprey Farpoint 40L Men’s Travel Backpack

$200.00 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  stowaway harness

Best for: travelers who carry more and want a 40 L bag with a stowaway harness, hip belt and compression.

The listing describes WingJacket compression, a men’s-specific fit with adjustable torso length, and a load-lifting frame, plus a stowaway harness and hip belt that tuck away for travel. It lists a direct-zip 3-1-1 pocket, a front pocket, water bottle pockets, internal compression straps, and a compatible Farpoint or Fairview Travel Daypack sold separately. Osprey’s page lists dimensions of 21.7 x 13.8 x 9.1 inches, a weight of 3.27 lbs, and a direct-zip sleeve that fits most laptops up to 16 inches. The listing says it meets most carry-on size requirements, so check with your airline. The listing did not state a warranty, and the Osprey All Mighty Guarantee page lists repair of damage or defects with no stated expiration. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Tortuga 40L Travel Backpack Lite, Black, Large Carry-On Travel Bag

$250.00 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  suitcase-style opening

Best for: travelers who want a suitcase-style opening, a padded fleece-lined laptop sleeve and a removable hip belt.

The listing describes a 40L pack at 22 x 14 x 8 inches that it says meets international and US carry-on size requirements. It lists a front-loading suitcase-style opening, a separate laptop compartment, two quick-access front pockets, 630D CORDURA nylon, YKK zippers, and a hip belt, sternum strap, and load lifter straps. Tortuga’s page lists a weight of 3.5 lbs and a padded, fleece-lined sleeve for laptops up to 16 inches. Tortuga’s warranty page covers defects for the practical lifetime of the product, for the original owner. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L, Black, Expandable 35-45L Design

$299.95 as of Sep 30, 2026, 6:27 pm CT on Amazon  ·  highest price, expandable

Best for: travelers who want a bag that expands from 30 L to 45 L, with tuck-away straps and a lifetime guarantee.

The listing describes a pack that expands from 35L to 45L with expandable side pockets, top, side, and rear access, and a weatherproof 400D recycled nylon canvas shell. It lists tuck-away shoulder straps and hip belt, a luggage pass-through, 360-degree handles, hidden carry straps, and a laptop sleeve. Peak Design’s product page lists a standard size of 22 x 13 x 9.5 inches (22 x 13 x 11 inches expanded), a weight of 2.05 kg (4.5 lb), and a sleeve that fits a 16 inch laptop. The listing did not state a warranty, and Peak Design’s product page lists a lifetime guarantee. It is available on Amazon.

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

If price and weight matter most, the Osprey Daylite Carry-On at 35L is the lightest and least expensive. If you want a 40L pack with a harness that stows away, the Osprey Farpoint is the middle option. The Tortuga lists the clearest carry-on dimensions and the Peak Design is the only expandable one, at the highest price. Both Osprey packs and the Tortuga and Peak Design packs have long-term manufacturer warranties, but the terms differ, so read them before you buy. Always check your airline’s carry-on limits. We did not test any of them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will these backpacks fit in an airplane overhead bin?

The Osprey Daylite and Tortuga listings say the packs meet carry-on size requirements, and the Osprey Farpoint listing says it meets most carry-on size requirements and to check with your airline. The Peak Design listing calls it carry-on approved in its 35L size. Airline limits vary, so check yours.

Which of these has the most capacity?

The Peak Design expands to 45L, the Osprey Farpoint and Tortuga are 40L, and the Osprey Daylite Carry-On is 35L.

Do these packs have a laptop compartment?

Osprey’s page lists a TSA-access compartment for a 16 inch laptop on the Daylite and a direct-zip sleeve for laptops up to 16 inches on the Farpoint. Tortuga lists a padded sleeve for laptops up to 16 inches, and Peak Design lists a sleeve that fits a 16 inch laptop.

What warranty do these backpacks have?

The Osprey All Mighty Guarantee page lists repair of damage or defects with no stated expiration. Tortuga’s warranty page covers defects for the practical lifetime of the product, for the original owner, and Peak Design’s product page lists a lifetime guarantee.

Scroll to Top