Best Smart Alarm Clocks 2026: Philips vs Hatch vs Loftie

Cozy bedroom with a made bed, two nightstands and warm lamps.

Researched comparisonLast updated October 2026  ·  How we review

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. We may earn a commission from links on this page, at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products from established brands.

Quick Answer

Philips is the lowest priced at $106.99 and the only one that states its sunrise light brightness, Hatch costs $169.99 and adds an optional Hatch+ membership after a 30 day trial, and Loftie costs the most at $199.99 and has no sunrise simulation.

  • Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light with Colored Sunrise Simulation (HF3520/60): best for a dedicated sunrise simulation light with no app and no subscription
  • Hatch Restore 3 Sleep Assistant: best for a sunrise alarm, night light and sound machine in one, controlled from an app
  • Loftie Clock Smart Alarm Clock with Sound Machine: best for a screen-dimming alarm clock with 100 or more sounds, Bluetooth and a backup battery

Prices as of October 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT.

A smart alarm clock can wake you with light and sound instead of a sudden buzz. These three bedside clocks come from Philips, Hatch and Loftie, and they take different approaches to waking you up.

How We Chose

We picked three well-known brands that make a bedside alarm clock with light and sound features. They are not the same kind of product: the Philips SmartSleep is a sunrise simulation wake-up light, the Hatch Restore 3 combines a sunrise alarm, a night light and a sound machine, and the Loftie Clock is an alarm clock with a night light and a sound machine that its page says is not a sunrise alarm. Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages, and where a page does not state a value we say so.

The Lineup

Brand and Model Amazon Price Wake Light Sounds App Needed Power Weight
Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light with Colored Sunrise Simulation (HF3520/60)$106.99
as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT
Check price →
Colored sunrise, up to 300 lux, 20 to 40 min5 natural sounds and FM radioNoCorded, 100 to 240 VAbout 1.6 lb
Hatch Restore 3 Sleep Assistant$169.99
as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT
Check price →
Sunrise alarm, brightness not stated in the fields we checked40+ free sounds, 60+ with Hatch+Yes, Hatch Sleep appNot stated in the fields we checkedNot stated in the fields we checked
Loftie Clock Smart Alarm Clock with Sound Machine$199.99
as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT
Check price →
Night light with red modes, no sunrise simulation100+ sounds, Bluetooth speakerSetup onlyUSB-C, about 5 hour backup battery1.8 lb

Specs come from each manufacturer’s own pages. The Hatch Restore 3 page does not state its light brightness, display, power details, dimensions or weight. Prices as of October 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. Amazon may show a different seller than the brand or Amazon.com. Certain content that appears on this site comes from Amazon. This content is provided “as is” and is subject to change or removal at any time.

Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light with Colored Sunrise Simulation (HF3520/60)

$106.99 as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT on Amazon  ·  Lowest price

Best for: a dedicated sunrise simulation light with no app and no subscription

The Philips spec sheet lists a colored sunrise that moves from red to orange to yellow, up to 300 lux across 20 brightness settings, an adjustable sunrise of 20 to 40 minutes, and a sunset simulation. It has five natural sounds and an FM radio, two alarms, tap to snooze, and it doubles as a reading lamp. It plugs in with a 150 centimeter cord, needs no app, and weighs about 730 grams plus the plug.

Warranty: 2 years

Check Price on Amazon →

Hatch Restore 3 Sleep Assistant

$169.99 as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT on Amazon  ·  Optional Hatch+ membership

Best for: a sunrise alarm, night light and sound machine in one, controlled from an app

The Hatch pages describe a bedside light and sound machine with sunrise alarms, ambient lights and white noise, set up and controlled from the Hatch Sleep app. It includes 40 or more free sleep sounds, and the optional Hatch+ membership adds a fuller library with 60 or more sounds. A 30 day Hatch+ trial comes with the device, then the membership is $5.99 a month, and the pages do not state the light brightness, display, power details or size.

Warranty: 1 year

Check Price on Amazon →

Loftie Clock Smart Alarm Clock with Sound Machine

$199.99 as of Oct 19, 2026, 9:49 pm CT on Amazon  ·  Bluetooth speaker, no sunrise light

Best for: a screen-dimming alarm clock with 100 or more sounds, Bluetooth and a backup battery

Loftie’s page lists an alarm clock with 100 or more sleep sounds, an adjustable night light with red modes, a dimmable display with a blackout mode, and Bluetooth speaker use. The page says it is not a sunrise alarm. It runs on USB-C power with a backup battery of about 5 hours, needs the app and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only for setup, has no subscription, and measures 6.5 x 2.75 x 2.75 inches at 1.8 pounds.

Warranty: 1 year limited

Check Price on Amazon →

Our Take

Choose the Philips SmartSleep if you want a true sunrise wake-up light at the lowest price with no app. Choose the Hatch Restore 3 if you want a light, sound machine and app routines in one device and are fine with the optional membership. Choose the Loftie if you want a polished alarm clock and sound machine and do not need a sunrise light.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these has a true sunrise simulation?

The Philips SmartSleep has a colored sunrise simulation of 20 to 40 minutes at up to 300 lux, and the Hatch Restore 3 has sunrise alarms. Loftie’s page says the Loftie Clock is not a sunrise alarm.

Do I need an app?

The Hatch Restore 3 is set up and controlled from the Hatch Sleep app. The Loftie needs the app only for setup, and the Philips needs no app.

Is there a subscription?

Hatch+ is optional. The Restore 3 includes a 30 day trial and then it is $5.99 a month, and the free tier includes basic lights and 40 or more sounds. Philips and Loftie have no subscription.

Do they have a sound machine?

The Hatch and Loftie both have sound machines, with Loftie listing 100 or more sounds. The Philips has five natural sounds and an FM radio but no white noise machine.

How do the warranties compare?

Philips lists 2 years, and Hatch and Loftie each list 1 year.

Scroll to Top